Useful catalogues:
- Henry Putney Beers, French and Spanish Records of Louisiana, Louisiana State University Press, Baton Rouge, 1989.
- Lawrence C. Wroth et Gertrude L. Annan, Acts of French Royal Administration Concerning Canada, Guiana, The West Indies and Louisiana, prior to 1791, New York Public Library, New York, 1930.

Web site: www.frenchcolonial.org
La French Colonial Historical Society
The French Colonial Historical Society is the largest international research group of its kind. It publishes a newsletter and organizes an annual conference; the conference papers are published in the review French Colonial History.
French Colonial History contains scholarly articles on all French colonizing activity in all eras and on the history of all French colonies. The articles are based upon papers presented at the annual conference of the French Colonial Historical Society. A refereed journal that publishes in English and French, French Colonial History appears once a year, published by Michigan State University Press:

Web site: http://catalog.loc.gov/
Library of Congress, Washington.
The Library's online catalogue contains documents, maps, plans and engravings having to do with Louisiana under France, Spain and the US.

Web site: www.publiclibraries.com
Index of American public libraries.

Web site: www.centenary.edu
Site of Centenary College of Louisiana (Shreveport) and the journal Le Tintamarre, which was created in 2003. Also included in the site is the Bibliothèque Tintamarre publishing house, a digital library that contains poems, short stories and novels from Louisiana.

Web site: www.newberry.org
Newberry Library, Chicago.
This library contains a number of documents related to Louisiana in the Ayer Collection, in particular an illustrated manuscript by Benjamin Dumont de Montigny (ca. 1740).

Web site: www.state.la.us
State of Louisiana web site
This site contains the National Register of Historic Places for Louisiana.

Web site: www.sec.state.la.us/archives/archives/archives-index.htm
The Louisiana State Archives at Baton Rouge contains only a few elements relating to the French colonial period. The Comité des Archives de la Louisiane publishes an online version of its journal, Le Raconteur.

Web site: www.notarialarchives.org
Les New Orleans Notarial Archives contains the very incomplete archives of the notaries from the colonial and American periods, as well as an exceptional collection of architectural drawings from 19th century New Orleans and surroundings.

Web site: www.archdiocese-no.org/archives
The Archives Of The Archdiocese Of New Orleans possesses the state's largest collection of religious records (baptisms, marriages, deaths), going back to the beginning of the French colonial period.

Web site: www.uno.edu
The Urban Affairs Department of the University of New Orleans has an exchange program with the Institut d'Urbanisme de Paris (Université de Paris XII).

Web site: http://specialcollections.tulane.edu
Tulane University in New Orleans has a large collection of architectural drawings and documents about the construction of New Orleans—the Louisiana Collection—as well as a large manuscript department.

Web site: www.lsu.edu
The primary focus of the Department of French and Francophone Studies at Louisiana State University at Baton Rouge is literary studies. Hill Memorial Library contains a sizeable number of 19th century French manuscripts.

Web site: www.louisiana.edu
La University of Louisiana at Lafayette has created a Center for French and Francophone Studies; it is the leading center for studies of Francophone Louisiana. Its professors are internationally renowned. The web site contains a great deal of information about cultural activities in Louisiana.
The University also publishes literary and scientific texts in French Creole and Cajun.

Web site: www.nsula.edu/creole
The University of Natchitoches houses the Louisiana Creole Heritage Center.

Web site: www.southalabama.edu
At the University of South Alabama in Mobile, The Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures has a French section that conducts exchanges with the University of Pau in France. Since 1989, the Center for Archeological Studies has been excavating the first site of Mobile, and since 1996 it has explored the port of Dolphin Island. These campaigns have brought to light a number of foundations and a great many artifacts.

Web site: www.usm.edu
In 1999, the History Department at the University of Southern Mississippi at Hattiesburg devoted its annual conference to the 300th anniversary of the creation of Biloxi by Iberville.

Web site: www.noctrl.edu
The History Department of North Central College at Naperville (Illinois) contains the Center for French Colonial Studies, which organized a conference on Louisiana in 1999.

Web site: www.hnoc.org
The Historic New Orleans Collection is Louisiana's principal learned society. It contains a museum about the history of the city and its surroundings, a documentation center and a center for archives, maps and plans. The archives of Governor Vaudreuil and the Prefect Laussat may be found here. The Collection organizes exhibitions and publishes books, and its journal, The New Orleans Collection Quarterly, is available online. The journal is entirely devoted to the history of New Orleans and Louisiana.

Web site: http://lsm.crt.state.la.us
The Louisiana State Museum in New Orleans is the state's largest historical museum. The permanent collections are displayed in two symmetrical buildings, the Cabildo and the Presbytere, which flank the Cathedral. The museum organizes exhibitions and publishes catalogues. In an adjoining building, the Old U.S. Mint, there are archives from the French, Spanish and American periods as well as maps and plans. Most of the French archives also exist on microfilm.

Web site: http://nutrias.org
The New Orleans Public Library houses the Acts and Deliberations of the Spanish Cabildo, which governed Louisiana from 1769 to 1803. It also has a small collection of maps of New Orleans, including a very beautiful series of old and new photographs of the city and its surroundings.

Web site: http://homepages.gs.net/~mcooper
The Vieux Carré Commission was created in 1936 by an amendment to the Louisiana state constitution. Today its principal activity is the historic preservation of New Orleans' French Quarter.

Web site: www.cityofmobile.org
Mobile, the first capital of French Louisiana, is today located in the state of Alabama. The city has a number of interesting sites relating to the history of the colony. One can visit Fort Condé, a French fort, which has been partially reconstructed using the original plans. The city archives contain a number of original documents as well as a library. The city library possesses an extensive collection of books about the history of the city after the Louisiana Purchase.

Web site: www.thc.state.tx.us/lasalle/lasdefault.html
This site describes the 1996 discovery and subsequent archaeological excavation of the Belle, the ship of Cavelier de La Salle, which sank in Victoria Bay in Texas.

Ressources américaines
Des catalogues utiles :
- Henry Putney Beers, French and Spanish Records of Louisiana, Louisiana State University Press, Baton Rouge, 1989.
- Lawrence C. Wroth et Gertrude L. Annan, Acts of French Royal Administration Concerning Canada, Guiana, The West Indies and Louisiana, prior to 1791, New York Public Library, New York, 1930.

Site Internet : www.frenchcolonial.org
La French C449olonial Historical Society / Société d'histoire coloniale française est le plus important groupe de recherche international sur la question. Elle publie une lettre d'information et organise un colloque annuel, dont les contributions sont éditées dans la revue French Colonial History.
French Colonial History publie des articles sur toute activité colonisatrice française à toute époque et sur l'histoire de toutes les colonies françaises. Les articles, soit en anglais soit en français, sont basées sur des communications présentées au congrès annuel de la Société d'Histoire Coloniale Française. French Colonial History publie un volume par an. La revue est publiée pour le compte de la Société par Michigan State University Press : ww.msupress.msu.edu

Site Internet : http://catalog.loc.gov/
Library of Congress, Washington.
Catalogue général de la LOC : documents, cartes, plans, vues gravées concernent la Louisiane française, la Luisiana espagnole et la Louisiana américaine.

Site Internet : gallica.bnf.fr/FranceAmerique
La France en Amérique / France in America, site bilingue de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de la Bibliothèque du Congrès.
Consacrée à la présence franšaise en Amérique du Nord, la collection numérique comprend 700 documents de toute nature du XVIe au XVIIIe siècle. Ce corpus sera enrichi jusqu'Ó la fin de l'année 2006.

Site Internet : www.publiclibraries.com
Index des bibliothèques publiques américaines.

Site Internet : www.centenary.edu
Le Centenary College of Louisiana (Shreveport) et le journal Le Tintamarre créent en 2003 une maison d'édition, la Bibliothèque Tintamarre, une véritable bibliothèque numérisée qui héberge des poèmes, nouvelles et romans louisianais.

Site Internet : www.newberry.org
Newberry Library, Chicago.
Cette bibliothèque possède de nombreux documents intéressant la Louisiane, dans la Ayer Collection, notamment un récit manuscrit et illustré de Benjamin Dumont de Montigny (vers 1740).

Site Internet : www.state.la.us
Etat de Louisiane.
On y trouve la liste du National Register of Historic Places (le Monum' américain).

Site Internet : www.sec.state.la.us/archives/archives/archives-index.htm
Les Archives de l'Etat de Louisiane à Baton Rouge contiennent peu d'éléments intéressant la période coloniale. Sur ce site, le Comité des Archives de la Louisiane, éditeur, diffuse en ligne son journal, Le Raconteur.

Site Internet : www.notarialarchives.org
Les Archives notariales de La Nouvelle Orléans possèdent les archives -très lacunaires- des notaires des périodes coloniale et américaine, ainsi qu'une exceptionnelle collection de relevés d'architecture du XIXe siècle à New Orleans et ses faubourgs.

Site Internet : www.archdiocese-no.org/archives
Les Archives de l'Archevêché de La Nouvelle Orléans possèdent la plus importante collection de registres d'actes religieux en Louisiane (baptêmes, mariages, décès), remontant au début de la colonisation française.

Site Internet : www.uno.edu
Le Département d'urbanisme de la University of New Orleans pratique des échanges avec l'Institut d'Urbanisme de Paris (Université de Paris XII).

Site Internet : http://specialcollections.tulane.edu
La Tulane University de New Orleans possède une collection importante de dessins d'architecture et de documents intéressant la construction à New Orleans : la Louisiana Collection, ainsi qu'un important département de manuscrits.

Site Internet : www.lsu.edu
Le département d'Etudes Françaises et Francophones de la Louisiana State University à Baton Rouge, est principalement axé sur la littérature. La Hill Memorial Library conserve un nombre élevé de manuscrits en français, datés du XIXe siècle louisianais.

Site Internet : www.louisiana.edu
La University of Louisiana (Lafayette) a fondé un Centre d'Etudes Françaises et Francophones, qui est le plus actif sur le thème de la Louisiane francophone. Ses professeurs ont une réputation internationale, et on trouve sur ce site de nombreux renseignements sur les activités culturelles en Louisiane.
L'université est également éditeur d'ouvrages littéraires et scientifiques en français créole et cadjin.

Site Internet : www.nsula.edu/creole
L'université de Natchitoches abrite le Louisiana Creole Heritage Center.

Site Internet : www.southalabama.edu
Au sein de la University of South Alabama (Mobile), le Département de Foreign Languages and Litteratures comporte une section de français, qui a des accords avec l'université de Pau. Par ailleurs le Center for Archeological Studies a entrepris des fouilles sur le site de la première ville de La Mobile (depuis 1989) et du port de l'île Dauphine (depuis 1996), qui ont permis de dégager la structure de nombreux bâtiments et de retrouver un matériel important.

Site Internet : www.usm.edu
Le département d'Histoire de la University of Southern Mississippi à Hattiesburg a consacré en 1999 son colloque international annuel au 300e anniversaire de la création du Biloxi par Iberville.

Site Internet : www.noctrl.edu
Le North Central College à Naperville (Illinois), comporte au sein de son département d'Histoire le Center for French Colonial Studies, qui a organisé un colloque annuel sur la Louisiane en 1999.

Site Internet : www.hnoc.org
The Historic New Orleans Collection est la principale société savante de Louisiane. Elle comprend un musée sur l'histoire de la ville et de ses environs, un centre de documentation et un centre de conservation d'archives, cartes et plans ; on y trouvera notamment les archives du gouverneur Vaudreuil et celles du préfet Laussat.. Elle organise également des expositions, édite des ouvrages, et met en ligne son journal, The New Orleans Collection Quarterly, entièrement consacré à l'histoire de cette ville et de la Louisiane.

Site Internet : http://lsm.crt.state.la.us
Le Louisiana State Museum de New Orleans est le plus important des musées historiques louisianais. Les collections permanentes sont exposées dans les bâtiments symétriques du Cabildo et du Presbytère, de part et d'autre de la Cathédrale. Le LSM organise des expositions et édite des catalogues. Dans un bâtiment annexe (Mint House), il conserve un dépôt d'archives concernant les périodes française, espagnole et américaine, des cartes et plans, ainsi que des microfilms de la plupart des archives françaises sur le sujet.

Site Internet : http://nutrias.org
La New Orleans Public Library conserve les Actes et Délibérations du Cabildo espagnol, qui a gouverné la Louisiane de 1769 à 1803. Elle possède aussi une petite collection de plans de La Nouvelle Orléans, et surtout de très belles séries anciennes et récentes de photographies de la ville et de ses environs.

Site Internet : http://homepages.gs.net/~mcooper
La Vieux Carré Commission a été créée en 1936 par un amendement à la Constitution de l'Etat de Louisiane. Aujourd'hui elle s'attache activement à la préservation du patrimoine bâti du French Quarter de La Nouvelle Orléans.

Site Internet : www.cityofmobile.org
Il existe à Mobile, première capitale de la Louisiane française (elle se trouve aujourd'hui dans l'Etat de l'Alabama), plusieurs sites d'informations intéressant l'histoire de la colonie. Le fort Condé français a été partiellement reconstitué sur les plans originaux, il se visite (architecture militaire, maquettes). Les archives municipales possèdent un certain nombre de documents originaux et une bibliothque. La Bibliothèque municipale est riche d'ouvrages intéressant l'histoire de la ville après le Louisiana Purchase.

Site Internet : www.thc.state.tx.us/lasalle/lasdefault.html
Les travaux archéologiques qui ont permis en 1996, dans la baie de Victoria au Texas, la découverte du navire de Cavelier de La Salle, La Belle, et du fort Saint-Louis, sont décrits sur ce site.