"The engineering profession has been so neglected since the founding of the Company of the Indies in this country, that a infantry captain who requested to be employed as such in the Colony was thought to be some sort of madman. The madness is even greater in that, although he is leaving the State to work on his own account, he will receive a pension based on his military honors and rank… […] This is one of the main reasons for the disgust of the state's officers-men whom the Colony needs all the more, since everything remains to be accomplished there".
CAOM, C13C 1, f° 11-16, vers 1731


Mission orders given to chief engineer Louis Pierre Le Blond de Latour, November 8, 1719
CAOM,  B42bis, f° 311 The engineers in Louisiana were military men, either those who held diplomas, having completed the necessary theoretical and practical studies, or officers who had been promoted to "engineer". Along with the Jesuit priests, the high-ranking officers, the governor and certain concessionaires, they constituted whatever elite there was in the colony. Their skills, honed in the king's armies in the east or in the Pyrenees, had to be adapted to the tropical conditions of Lower Louisiana and to the materials that could be found or made there: cypress wood, oyster shell lime and bricks of variable quality.
Mission orders given to chief engineer Louis Pierre Le Blond de Latour, November 8, 1719
CAOM, B42bis, f° 311

Thus, the buildings that were put up in a matter of days or weeks in the early days of colonization barely lasted longer than three to five years.
Engineering activities were confined to two geographical regions. On the Gulf of Mexico, the work consisted of finding the best port and of improving the waterways. In the Louisiana interior, they had to build the necessary network of military outposts and commercial trading posts. This task led to the choice of the location of the colony's capital.

The engineers ran in problems with the interests of the Company, with those colonists who had already moved in, and with the poorly-distributed powers of the commander general and the ordonnateur. Still, they generally had enough authority to not fail at their task, and to impose their reasoned choices concerning the placement and shape of the town and the building techniques that should be used.

Letter from engineer Pauger complaining about houses built in New Orleans
CAOM, C13A 6, f° 140-141, 19 août 1721 Letter from engineer Pauger complaining about houses built in New Orleans
CAOM, C13A 6, f° 140-141, 19 août 1721
Letter from engineer Pauger complaining about houses built in New Orleans
CAOM, C13A 6, f° 140-141, 19 août 1721

Moving the town of Mobile to a better location, abandoning Biloxi in favor of New Orleans, implanting forts and concessions near Indian villages, adopting regular town plans and simple architectural structures, and training specialized workmen on the spot-all of these actions, stubbornly defended by a mere handful of men, left a lasting mark on the countryside as well as on Louisiana's two cities.

The engineers who were the most influential in the development of Louisiana all died within a few years of each other (Le Blond de La Tour and Pinel de Boispinel in 1723, Pauger in 1726, and Devin in 1735), or returned hastily to France (Franquet de Chaville in 1724). Their successors, less susceptible to fever, carried out the lion's share of the work that they had planned-and in the less auspicious period of the decline of the Company of the Indies and the royal patronage.

« L'Etat d'ingenieur est si négligé depuis l'Etablissement de la Compagnie des Indes dans ce pays, que l'on a regardé comme un espece de fou, un capitaine d'infanterie qui […] demanda à estre employé en cette qualité dans la Colonie. La folie est d'autant plus grande disoit on qu'il quite un Etat, ou en travaillant à sa fortune il parviendra en même tems par son ancienneté aux honneurs et grades de son Etat... [...] Voila une des principales raisons qui degoutte les officiers d'un etat, dont la Colonie a d'autant plus de besoin que tout ï est à faire ».
CAOM, C13C 1, f° 11-16, vers 1731


Ordres de mission pour l’ingénieur en chef Louis Pierre Le Blond de Latour, le 8 novembre 1719
CAOM,  B42bis, f° 311 Les ingénieurs de la Louisiane sont des militaires, soit des titulaires ayant fait les études théoriques et pratiques du métier, soit des officiers réformés promus « ingénieurs ». Avec les pères Jésuites, les officiers de haut rang, le gouverneur et certains patrons de concessions, ils constituent la maigre élite de la colonie. Leurs compétences, formées dans les armées du Roi à l’Est ou aux Pyrénées, doivent s’adapter aux conditions tropicales de la Basse-Louisiane et aux matériaux trouvés ou fabriqués sur place : bois de cyprès, chaux d’huître, brique de qualité variable. Ainsi, dans les premiers temps de la colonisation,
Ordres de mission pour l’ingénieur en chef Louis Pierre Le Blond de Latour, le 8 novembre 1719
CAOM, B42bis, f° 311

les bâtiments construits, élevés en quelques jours ou semaines, ne durent guère au-delà de trois à cinq ans. Leurs ordres de mission s’exercent sur deux aires géographiques. Sur le golfe du Mexique, il s’agit de trouver le meilleur port et d’en aménager les passes. En Louisiane intérieure, il faut créer le réseau nécessaire de postes militaires et de comptoirs commerciaux. Ce dispositif débouche en fin de compte sur le choix de l’emplacement d’une capitale.
Les ingénieurs se heurtent aux intérêts de la Compagnie, à ceux des colons déjà installés, et à l’autorité mal partagée du commandant général et de l’ordonnateur. Pour autant, ils ont généralement assez d’autorité pour ne pas faillir à leur tâche, imposant finalement des choix judicieux d’emplacement, de morphologie et de techniques constructives.

Lettre de l'ingénieur Pauger se plaignant des maisons construites à La
Nouvelle Orléans
CAOM, C13A 6, f° 140-141, 19 août 1721 Lettre de l'ingénieur Pauger se plaignant des maisons construites à La
Nouvelle Orléans
CAOM, C13A 6, f° 140-141, 19 août 1721
Lettre de l'ingénieur Pauger se plaignant des maisons construites à La Nouvelle Orléans
CAOM, C13A 6, f° 140-141, 19 août 1721

Déplacement de La Mobile sur un lieu plus favorable, abandon du Biloxi au profit de La Nouvelle Orléans, disposition des forts et des concessions à proximité des villages Indiens, adoption de plans de ville réguliers et de structures architecturales simples, formation d’ouvriers spécialisés sur place : l’ensemble de ces options, opiniâtrement défendues par une poignée d’hommes seulement, a laissé une marque durable sur le paysage rural et sur les deux villes de la Louisiane.

Les ingénieurs qui ont donné l’impulsion décisive à l’aménagement de la Louisiane, sont tous morts en quelques années (Le Blond de La Tour et Pinel de Boispinel en 1723, Pauger en 1726, Devin en 1735), ou rentrés précipitamment en France (Franquet de Chaville en 1724). À leurs successeurs, plus résistants aux fièvres, reviendra d’exécuter la plus grande partie des travaux qu’ils avaient prévus, dans les temps moins favorables du déclin de la Compagnie des Indes et de la régie royale.