The 20th Century

The 20th century ushered in the era of celebrations. Colonial times were long past, but the ties remained strong, and official recognition of the particular history of this region of the United States seemed justified. The Louisiana Historical Society, appointed to organize the Centenary of the Louisiana Purchase, invited no less than the President of the United States to New Orleans. In addition to these Louisiana celebrations, the city of Saint Louis organized an International Exposition on the theme of the Louisiana Purchase, in which France was to play an important role—which it did, rather half-heartedly. What has become clear over the course of the commemorations of the last hundred years is the prominent place that France holds in the hearts of Louisianans, and the fact that the French have responded to this rather negligently. The same was true during the Bicentennial of the city of Mobile, Alabama in 1911.


Alcée Fortier, President of the Louisiana Historical Society, Letter to the French Government concerning the preparation of the Centennial of the Louisiana Purchase: 
AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902) Alcée Fortier, President of the Louisiana Historical Society, Letter to the French Government concerning the preparation of the Centennial of the Louisiana Purchase: 
AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902) Alcée Fortier, President of the Louisiana Historical Society, Letter to the French Government concerning the preparation of the Centennial of the Louisiana Purchase: 
AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902)
Alcée Fortier, President of the Louisiana Historical Society, Letter to the French Government concerning the preparation of the Centennial of the Louisiana Purchase: AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902)

In 1917, Marc de Villiers du Terrage published his Histoire de la fondation de La Nouvelle Orléans [History of the Founding of New Orleans] with the Imprimerie Nationale in Paris. Since the Imprimerie was a state-run enterprise at the time, proof of the interest in the subject in official French circles. In 1982, the city of Paris and the Macdonald Stewart Foundation presented an exposition that celebrated the tercentennial of the naming of Louisiana by Cavelier de La Salle.


In 2003

In 2002, the French Ministry of Culture decided that the bicentennial of the Louisiana Purchase should be the subject of a national celebration. This was particularly significant given the chosen means of communication—the Internet. The common cultural ties between Louisiana and France were emphasized, ties due to their common past, but most of all to the use of the French language. This bilingual web site—giving a basic history of French Louisiana as well as many useful sources of written or graphic documentation—seemed like the most current way to present the rich collections devoted to this period in history, and to create new ties between researchers and history enthusiasts from both countries.

Au XXe siècle

Le XXe siècle inaugure l’ère des célébrations. Le temps des colonies est lointain, mais les liens sont restés vifs, et semblent justifier une prise en compte officielle de l’histoire particulière à cette région des États-Unis. La Société Historique de la Louisiane, mandatée pour l’organisation du Centenaire du « Louisiana Purchase », invite à La Nouvelle Orléans rien moins que le Président des États-Unis. Au surplus de ces manifestations louisianaises, la ville de Saint-Louis organisait une Exposition Internationale sur le thème du « Louisiana Purchase », où la France devait tenir une place importante –défi qu’elle ne releva que médiocrement-. Ce qui apparaît au travers de ces commémorations d’il y a cent ans, c’est la place éminente de la France dans le cœur des habitants de la Louisiane, et le fait que les Français n’y répondent qu’avec une certaine négligence. Il en est de même lors du Bicentenaire de la ville de Mobile (Alabama) en 1911.


Alcée Fortier, Président de la Société Historique de la Louisiane, Lettre au Gouvernement français, au sujet de la préparation du Centenaire de la vente de la Louisiane : 
AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902) Alcée Fortier, Président de la Société Historique de la Louisiane, Lettre au Gouvernement français, au sujet de la préparation du Centenaire de la vente de la Louisiane : 
AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902) Alcée Fortier, Président de la Société Historique de la Louisiane, Lettre au Gouvernement français, au sujet de la préparation du Centenaire de la vente de la Louisiane : 
AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902)
Alcée Fortier, Président de la Société Historique de la Louisiane, Lettre au Gouvernement français, au sujet de la préparation du Centenaire de la vente de la Louisiane :
AMAE, CADN, Consulat Louisiane, A 417, f° 65-66 (20 décembre 1902)

En 1917, Marc de Villiers du Terrage publie à l’Imprimerie Nationale, à Paris, son Histoire de la fondation de La Nouvelle Orléans, preuve de l’intérêt des sphères officielles françaises pour ce sujet, l’Imprimerie Nationale étant alors un organisme d’État. Les Célébrations nationales s’associent à la Ville de Paris et à la Fondation Macdonald Stewart pour saluer d’une exposition, en 1982, le Tricentenaire du baptême de la Louisiane par Cavelier de La Salle.


En 2003

En 2002, le ministère de la Culture français décide que le Bicentenaire de la vente de la Louisiane aux États-Unis donne lieu à une célébration nationale, plus significative en un sens qu’une exposition par le moyen de communication choisi : internet. Il s’agit d’insister sur la dimension culturelle des liens entre la Louisiane et la France, due à leur passé commun, mais surtout à la pratique de la langue française. Ce site internet bilingue, fournissant les bases de l’histoire louisianaise d’origine française et donnant toutes les sources utiles de documentation écrite ou imagée, est apparu comme la façon la plus actuelle de dévoiler la richesse des collections consacrées à cette histoire, et à former de nouveaux liens entre les chercheurs et les amateurs d’histoire des deux pays.